do i need to be an esthetician?
That's the best part about microblading, there is no skin care license required! So no, you do not need to be an esthetician or a cosmetologist. However, you do need to get your tattoo artist license which takes about a week to process. All microblading and permanent makeup fall under the tattoo laws in florida, so you must follow these guidelines.
how do i get my tattoo artist license?
You need to fill out the tattoo artist application on the Florida Department of Health website and take the three hour cross contamination course online (boring but easy). After those are done, send the application and the certificate of completion to the health department and your license will take about a week to process. You do not need your license for the seminar portion of class but YOU DO NEED the license for your practical. You CANNOT legally cut skin without it! Beware of classes that tell you otherwise.
Can i legally microblade after class?
Almost! The Florida health department requires that all tattooing happens in a registered tattoo establishment. Therefore you need to get a tattoo establishment license and a biomedical waste producer license. If you already work in a spa, salon, or tattoo studio that does permanent makeup then you won't need to worry about getting these licenses. However, if you are starting from scratch, I will give you a full list of supplies you need per the Health Department to get these licenses asap. Once you've obtained the supplies, the Health Department will inspect your work space and grant you a Tattoo Establishment License, then you're ready for clients!
how long is the course?
The full in class portion is 2-3 days depending on if you've signed up for the ombre workshop or not. Once the in class portion is complete, you have one-two weeks to complete your assignments and fake skins before we complete your model. This allows you to learn and grow on your schedule the weeks after class. Once you've completed all your tasks, then you will perform the procedure on a live model and the certification is complete. Going forward, you will always be able to reach out to me for continued support or feel free to schedule another model with me until you are completely ready to take clients solo.
What makes your class different from others?
There are several different factors that make me different from other classes. First, I never take more than 5 students at a time to ensure everyone gets enough individual attention. I always make time for my students and I'm a local trainer, I do not travel to do my trainings in other cities as I believe students should have access to their trainer even a year after they've completed a course. Class dates are for CLASS! We do not schedule your model during class days as it takes time to let the information sink in and to practice this new skill. After some practice, THEN we book a model individually. I do not have a room full of models going all at the same time, like most trainings. I've heard stories of 5-10 students models going at the same time with one instructor. This is the first time you are tattooing someone's face, the instructor should be watching and guiding your every move. Lastly, I've poured my heart and soul into this training. Every chapter, every exercise, every worksheet, every word was written by me and you will not find this training anywhere else. There are some stock microblading manuals that artists will buy and charge you $3,000 to read them to you in a two day class.
Why is it so expensive?
Typically a Microblading 101 class costs around 2,500-3,500$, only teaches classic microblading and is two days long (one day of theory and the next day a live model). In this class, you will learn microblading AND microshading or ombre brows and have a full two weeks to get through the course. The pigments, numbing creams and other supplies cost around 500$ to supply in the kits. Also, consider the cost of space to host the classes and compensation for the instructor's time. Keep in mind a large portion of this cost is for your continued mentorship while you build your business. You will have complete access to me as you start to take clients or as questions come up during the beginning months (which can be the most nerve-racking!).
This is the absolute lowest price to give students the best training possible, please understand and respect that this price is non-negotiable. Moreover, the price will increase two hundred dollars within two weeks of class to be able to rush order your supplies and secure a space last minute. To avoid this increase in price you must get your deposit in early!
How do I KNow if i'll be good?
To do microblading or any type of permanent makeup, you need to be artistic. I can teach you how to draw a brow, map a face, or do a simple stroke pattern BUT if you cannot draw the same curve twice or connect the dots, then we are going to have a problem. Basic artistic ability is a must! Other skills you'll need are a steady hand and excellent eye sight. If you have shaky hands and cannot accurately draw a straight line, you wont be able to microblade. Your sight needs to be good enough to see a very faint outline of a brow on skin and to see a single strand of hair. There have been times where I have a driven and business savvy student that ends up not being successful due to these physical restraints. Please understand that this is not a service that everyone can do so be aware of your limitations. With that being said, if you have artistic inclination, a steady hand, magnifying glasses and a relaxed, confident personality then you'll do great!
is there a payment plan?
There is currently no payment plan. You will be billed through a square account so you are able to pay with credit card. I do require a 500$ deposit at least two weeks ahead of time to book your seat in class. Full payment is due the day before class begins.
How do i sign up?
To sign up and make your $500 deposit, please contact Emily at 727-563-4289 or email at firstname.lastname@example.org. She must make sure you fully understand the licensing process and have a business plan in mind. Once she approves you, you will be sent the deposit invoice for your class. You have 24 hours to complete payment before the spot opens again.